Pardon the Interruption – Simeon

As we walk through the Christmas story, for most of the actors in the biblical Christmas narrative, their lives were interrupted in a way none of them expected. However, there seems to be one exception: Simeon.  

“And behold, there was a man in Jerusalem whose name was Simeon, and this man was just and devout, waiting for the Consolation of Israel, and the Holy Spirit was upon him. And it had been revealed to him by the Holy Spirit that he would not see death before he had seen the Lord’s Christ. So he came by the Spirit into the temple. And when the parents brought in the Child Jesus, to do for Him according to the custom of the law, he took Him up in his arms and blessed God and said:  “Lord, now You are letting Your servant depart in peace, According to Your word; For my eyes have seen Your salvation Which You have prepared before the face of all peoples, A light to bring revelation to the Gentiles, And the glory of Your people Israel.”  (Luke 2:25-32; NKJ)

Simeon had been divinely informed that Messiah would appear in his lifetime. He had taken this to heart and he was waiting and watching for Christ’s arrival. In other words, he was eagerly waiting for the divine interruption!  He put himself in the place to receive it and when Jesus was revealed to him, Simeon responded with joy, thanksgiving, and an expressed sense of peace.  

We obviously can’t go hang out at the temple or church or a retreat every day! But I wonder if I could borrow some of Simeon’s hopeful anticipation? I wonder what the result would be if I actually anticipated and watched for “divine interruptions” in my life.  What if I saw even irritating interruptions as God trying to get my attention? What if I saw them as opportunities to praise God and testify to Him? 

Published by Tim O

I chose the Greek form of my name as the title for the blog. It means “honoring God”. That is the goal of my life and of my writing. I hope it also encourages you along the way. Thanks for joining me!

Leave a comment